2017 Players & Teams

Jack Nicklaus and grandson, Justin Leonard and Father headline 2017 Father/Son Challenge field


Twenty-team field boasts 499 worldwide wins, 60 major championships and 11 World Golf Hall of Fame Members


2017 PNC Father/Son Challenge Field

 (bold denotes World Golf Hall of Fame member)

1.       Angel Cabrera / Angel Cabrera Jr.

2.      Stewart Cink / Connor Cink.         

3.      John Daly / Little John Daly

4.      David Duval / Nick Karavites

5.      Nick Faldo / Matthew Faldo

6.      Fred Funk / Taylor Funk

7.      Retief Goosen / Leo Goosen

8.      Padraig Harrington / Paddy Harrington

9.      Lee Janzen/ Connor Janzen

10.     Tom Kite / David Kite

11.      Bernhard Langer/ Jason Langer

12.     Tom Lehman / Thomas Lehman

13.     Justin Leonard / Larry Leonard (Dad)

14.     Jack Nicklaus / Gary Nicklaus Jr.

15.     Greg Norman / Greg Norman Jr.

16.     Mark O'Meara / Shaun O'Meara

17.     Jerry Pate / Wesley Pate

18.    Nick Price / Greg Price

19.    Lee Trevino / Daniel Trevino

20.   Lanny Wadkins / Travis Wadkins

The 20-team field competes in a scramble format over 36 holes for the $1,085,000 prize purse and the Willie Park trophy, named after Willie Park, and his son Willie Park Jr., who combined to win the British Open five times. 

Major Champions Only

To qualify for the PNC Father/Son Challenge, participants must have won either a major championship or THE PLAYERS in their career. The professional’s partner must not currently hold a Tour card, and while the majority of partners in the history of the event have been the sons of the golf legends, the family-themed tournament has seen daughters and grandsons participate over the years.


Tournament Champions

2017 Angel Cabrera and Angel Cabrera Jr. 

2016 David Duval and Nick Karavites

2015 Lanny Wadkins and Tucker Wadkins

2014 Bernhard Langer and Jason Langer

2013 Stewart Cink and Connor Cink

2012 Davis Love III and Davis (Dru) Love IV

2008 Larry Nelson and Drew Nelson

2007 Larry Nelson and Josh Nelson

2006 Bernhard Langer and Stefan Langer

2005 Bernhard Langer and Stefan Langer

2004 Larry Nelson and Drew Nelson

2003 Hale Irwin and Steve Irwin

2002 Craig Stadler and Kevin Stadler

2001 Raymond Floyd and Robert Floyd

2000 Raymond Floyd and Robert Floyd

1999 Jack Nicklaus and Gary Nicklaus

1998 Bob Charles and David Charles

1997 Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr.

1996 Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr.

1995 Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr.

Results by Year