Five-time Father/Son Challenge Winner has played each year of event; Pairs up with son Robert for the Ninth Time

ORLANDO, Fla. – Raymond Floyd dominated the PNC Father/Son Challenge in the early years.  Floyd is a four-time major champion, has won 22 times on the PGA TOUR, 14 times on the Champions Tour and has won five times at the PNC Father/Son Challenge.  Floyd and his son Raymond Floyd Jr. won the first three years the tournament was held from 1995-97, then Raymond won with son Robert in 2000-2001. 

Floyd is one of 20 fathers who will vie for the Willie Park trophy alongside their son or daughter when the tournament is played Dec. 11-14, 2014, at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Club, Orlando, Grande Lakes in Fla.

Floyd joins Larry Nelson, Hale Irwin and Lee Trevino as the only four players to have participated in each of the 16 tournaments.  Floyd and Nelson are the only two players to win with two different sons. 

Starting in 2002, Floyd began alternating each year between Raymond Jr. and Robert.  While one son plays, the other caddies for him. 

“This has always been a very special event,” said Floyd.  “It’s something special to watch your sons compete while playing with you.  From the beginning we were all very excited to play.  Both of my boys are good golfers and there are a lot of good teams.”  

Floyd said when the tournament started his mom and dad used to come out to the tournament.  He said it’s always been a family event.  Last year his grandkids came and enjoyed the Orlando-are activities. 

“You have to remember, I’m retired now, and you’ve got guys in the field a lot younger than I am,” said Floyd.  “I’m 72 now, but we can still play.  Robert and I will play together more closer to the tournament but my son knows how to play so we’re looking forward to it.”  

Raymond Floyd’s Results at the PNC Father/Son Challenge (son who played)

1995 – WON (Raymond Floyd, Jr.)
1996 – WON (Raymond Floyd, Jr.)
1997 – WON (Raymond Floyd, Jr.)
1998 – T4 (Robert Floyd)
1999 – 2nd(Robert Floyd)
2000 – WON (Robert Floyd)
2001 – WON (Robert Floyd)
2002 – T3 (Raymond Floyd, Jr.)
2003 – T8 (Robert Floyd)
2004 – T3 (Raymond Floyd, Jr.)
2005 – 2nd(Robert Floyd)
2006 – 14th(Raymond Floyd, Jr.)
2007 – T4 (Robert Floyd)
2008 – T4 (Raymond Floyd, Jr.)
2012 – T12 (Robert Floyd)
2013 – T7 (Raymond Floyd, Jr.)